Cab interchange

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cab interchange

Hi all, relative newbie here. I've restored a few antique chevy trucks but I've always had a special place in my heart for the old Power Wagons. Last year I bit the bullet and bought a pair of 67 WM300s and then a complete chassis of a 56 complete minus the cab and bed. I gave one of the 67's to my father, and kept the other one.

The one I have has an excellent frame, doors, and immaculate front fenders. It is missing the bed, most of the interior, and the engine is half torn apart.
    My first order of business is to locate a better cab, as the one there is really rotted through and has some major dents in the roof.

I read somewhere that regular dodge pickups had the same cab, starting in '39, but the pictures I see online seem to show a lot more sheetmetal below the doors than there is on the Power Wagons. Anybody have any insight on that?
    Any info is much appreciated.
    Thank you!
    -Tim

Rust Buster,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Power Wagons!

The pick-up cabs did have a taller piece of sheet metal below the doors, but that can be changed or shortened. there is also a small filler panel just above it at the front fenders that the PW's have that the PU's don't. the other issue will be the fuel filler hole in the PU cab that you will have to fill. Several have done this and if that's the cab you find, go for it.

Will
    I drive a DODGE, not a ram!

Thanks,
    Will
    WAWII.com

1946 WDX Power Wagon - "Missouri Mule"
    1953 M37 - "Frankenstein"
    1993 Jeep YJ - "Will Power"
    1984 Dodge Ramcharger - "2014 Ramcharger"
    2006 3500 DRW 4WD Mega Cab - "Power Wagon Hauler"

Comment

Will,
      Thanks for the quick response! I think you're right, I'll have to take what I can find, neither of them are plentiful. I'm used to 67-72 chevy trucks and you can't go anywhere without bumping into parts for those...the PWs are like finding a needle in a haystack!