Front knuckles and axles?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Front knuckles and axles?

Finally finished total dis-assembly of my 49 B-1-PW and am now starting the build. Starting with front axle seals, bearings, ect and already have a question. Am I missing something or is my truck? when pulling axle on left (drivers) side the knuckle is like a big u-joint with large bearings and joined together. When removing the right (passenger side), the knuckle was a two piece without bearings? I am new to these trucks but should both left and right knuckles be the same? or are they different?

Also if anyone has a method for removing the brass inner axle bushings and seals I sure would like to hear about it.

Thanks

Sounds like one is the bendix Weiss stlye (bearings) and the other is the standard tracta joint. Use the search function on here to find wear tolerances on axles and bushings, tips for setting up preload on the knuckle, methods of removing the inner bushings, how much and what type of grease to use, the best way to put the grease in the knuckle, and the proper torque and technique for wheel bearing preload. And get a service manual.
    1949 B-1 PW
    1950 B-2 PW
    1965 WM300
    1968 D200 camper special (W200 conversion)
    1970 Challenger RT 383
    1987 Ramcharger 4x4
    1991.5 W250 diesel
    1999 Jeep Cherokee limited 4x4
    2008 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

Comment

Will do, have a service manual but still does not answer all due to the figures vary from model to model. Is it normal to have two diff knuckles? just curious. Have found several threads on type of grease and how to pack but can not find anything in the search for how to remove the brass bushing, only several threads on bushing size and how some came out with axle.

Comment