• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking

I am thinking about buying a truck.
    I am a master mechanic with machining and welding back ground
    What should I be inspecting?

Well...

Begin with your bank account and then move on to your patience, your desire, and your time. After that, your motivation or objective. What do you want when you are done? Daily driver? Show piece? Modern truck with an old look? All of these will help guide you to the first step of what you need to have included with the initial purchase.

For the rest, as I am just a newbie, I will leave to the experts on these wonderful beasts.

Best of luck and welcome to what is a great forum with many helpful members

Scott

Comment

Knowing what you want to do with it is important. Outside that I would say to inspect the cab floors in the cab, the frame where it doubles up and especially the crossmember at the front of the rear springs.

Outside of that you want it as complete as possible. A rotted windshield frame, or missing or rusted out headlight buckets can be replaced, but are not cheap, or common.

Comment

I second Scott.

If I can ad my personal experience:

1. Subscribe to the forum. There's a ton of content and reference links that will help you on this journey. It's worth every dollar. The seasoned restorers here are a wealth of info which will help with #2.

2. Keep an open budget. Unless you're incredibly wealthy, be prepared to fabricate many things and drive the back roads looking for donor trucks and parts. It's amazing the things you learn as you start tearing in to the old beast.

3. Be realistic with your time frame. It will take longer then you think, even with your skill sets. They come apart a lot quicker then they go back together.

4. If you have neighbours that don't like skeleton truck parts all over the yard, your best to make friends with them now:)