Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Owner Has Some Questions...

Hi all,

I am really new to the ffpw world, just got my 1946 this fall. From a 30 year sitting dead duck it's now all up and running. Everything is working except the gas gauge, I'll work on that soon. I 12v converted it, rewired the entire truck and found a donor truck with a braden winch. I now have that installed and working. But wow who designed that pto, what a beast to get off :).

Anyhow now that I have some more ffpw experience under the belt I have some questions for the veterans out there.

1. The old 6 is a little tired and will need a rebuild. So I am considering a cummins 4BT. Is this a feasible swap, I didn't find much on it with power wagons. Does it fit well under hood? Will a belt fan work or do you have to electric? Also will this swap accomodate using the stock tranny to run the winch pto? Or in all reality is it better to rebuild the 6. Now I know a purist will always go stock, I am usually that way. I plan to keep all the 6 banger stuff and can always go back. I just want to know if 4bt's work well in a ffpw and can the front winch pto work with it.

2. Any gas gauge help/troubleshooting would greatly be appreciated. The gauge has 3 posts on it, not 100% what is what there and the truck also has the 2 post sending unit. I am not positive on what ohm rating it is and also how do you check the ohms on that unit. So any help on the schematic and ohm stuff there would help. I do already have the runtz 12v>6v converter. I could get the gauge to move when grounding it out, it moved to just under half. So the gauge moved but that is as high as I could get it to read.

I just freekin love these trucks, when I walk into my shop it makes me smile. My wife doesn't get it, but thanx to shows like Counting Cars, Fast and Loud, she is starting to understand these love affairs.