wheels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wheels

I have been trying to remove tires from combat rims which are obviously rusted to the rims. I've tried driving onto them and tried to break them lose with a wood splitter to no avail. Has anyone found a good way of doing this without cutting them off?

I have not tried this and it seems to be a bit of a fire hazard that should only be done in a safe location, but the gentleman I got my combat wheels from told me that soaking the bead area with gasoline softens the rubber and will ease removal.

Comment

wheels

Thanks for the info. I'll try it and let you know if it works.

Comment

tires/wheels

I tried the gas. It seems to have helped somewhat, but the tires are still on.

Comment

wheels

I tried the gas. It helped somewhat, bet the tires are still on. They look ok, but are full of dry rot.

Comment

It's probably better to use WD 40 than gasoline. Let it soak in for a few days. The proper tool to break the bead is a bead breaking tire hammer. It can be a lot of work. Or, have a tire shop do it.

Comment

I've had this problem too, I ended up driving a fair sized fork lift onto them and leaving it there and then taking a big sledgehammer to the beads either side, hard work but it gets there.

Comment

When I was in high school/career center, our instructor poured a can of coke around the bead, waited 10 minutes then we broke it loose. I've not tried this since because I seldom do tire work. Roy

Comment

Find an old coke in glass to try this. I suspect they have made coke less usable in all the formula changes they have made to it over the years.
                  I drive a DODGE, not a ram!

Thanks,
                  Will
                  WAWII.com

1946 WDX Power Wagon - "Missouri Mule"
                  1953 M37 - "Frankenstein"
                  1993 Jeep YJ - "Will Power"
                  1984 Dodge Ramcharger - "2014 Ramcharger"