Bodywork- filling seams

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bodywork- filling seams

Wondering if you all weld in or fill seams when doing extensive body work on the cab? Here are a few pics of my cab that has been media blasted and primed. I'm wanting to fill the seam across the roof and cut out the drip edge above the door (not sure if it's a good idea but I like the clean look). Also wondering if I should spend some time filling the various seams on the floor around the door.

I have also been thinking about welding and filling the cab roof seam on my truck, and possibly remove my the drip rails. I am thinks about using lead to fill the roof seam after welding. As for around the doors, I would say it's personal preference. The rocker to floor gap in your pic seems to be a bit large to me, but I am no expert. I would think if you do anything with that, would be to get the gap as small as possible then weld it all the way using small tack welds about an inch apart until it's welded solid. Again I am no expert, so you may wait on an opinion from someone more knowledgeable. I do wish my floorboard was as nice as yours. I can't find a replacement, so I will have to fab a lot of mine to repair the rusted parts.

Comment

I would point out, in passing, that those drip rails are there for a very good reason. Things stay much dryer inside when they are complete and in good repair.

cd
      1949 B-1 PW (Gus)
      1955 C-3 PW (Woodrow)
      2001 Dodge 2500 (Dish...formerly Maney's Mopar)
      1978 Suzuki GS1000EC (fulfills the need...the need for speed)
      1954 Ford 860 tractor
      1966 Chrysler LS 16 sailboat (as yet un-named)
      UVA UVAM VIVENDO VARIA FITS

Comment