First post. Disc brakes and other planned mods on 3 project trucks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post. Disc brakes and other planned mods on 3 project trucks

Being new to the forum, this is my 1st post. I've searched around a bit, but I'm still learning/getting used to the forum. I'm also new to the PW world .... And I'm jumping in with both feet as I just purchased 3 Power Wagons all in need of restorations. I have 2 1952's and a 1959 (w30m). My goal is to restore them all simultaneously (or close to it). I don't want to make them what they are not but at the same time I need them to be able to get around in So Cal traffic and freeways. I'm a hobbyist but have restored quite a few cars to show quality, most of them being unique English sports cars but most recently a 1949 Plymouth Woody.

After doing some some research I've come to the conclusion that I will be keeping and rebuilding the flatheads (as opposed to swapping a Cumins or v8) but in order to get to safe freeway speeds, I'll be installing overdrives (which I recently did in my Daimler SP250). Due to the higher speeds, I plan on front disc conversions at a minimum.

So my 1st question is: who currently makes disc conversion kits (I can't seem to find anything recent in the forum).

I'm looking forward to hearing and receiving all your help and opinions. In the meantime, I'm reading up on the shop manuals, parts lists and owners manuals that I purchased from VPW.

Thanks,
    Josh

From another Forum: