I need help w parts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need help w parts

I have a 1974 W100 Club Cab/M880 and have broken a u-joint. The mechanic says he can't find the yoke that holds the u-joint in place ... I am not a mechanic, so am at a disadvantage.

Any suggestions on where to find parts for drive shafts, u-joints, etc? It originally had a 318, but now has a 5.7L hemi mated to the original 727.

Thanks.

Glassman.

Which U-Joint?

There are probably 2 u-joints on the main driveshaft, probably 2 on the front driveshaft, and one in each short-shaft of the front axle. So that gives plenty to guess at. Likely that means 5 different u-joints in your truck.

Common U-joints have the same dimensions in both sides of the cross, and the same size cups for all 4 cups, but my 86 Dodge W250 has some "conversion joints" that have different dimensions on the 2 sides of the cross, and different diameter cups. Most of these trucks have been modified from original to make use of available parts. So, I'd suggest that you take the bad joint to your NAPA or whatever and ask them to match it up. A good parts man can do that, the newbee kid behind the counter doesn't have a chance.

There are some companies which specialize in driveshaft repair and U-joints. In our area, Proven Force, AKA Clutch and U-Joint is just one of those places. They have successfully met my Dodge and IH truck needs.

Good Luck,

Paul in MN

Comment

FOUND ON CRAIGSLIST

Parting Out 1975 Dodge Power Wagon W-100 4x4 Pickup - $1 (FairOaksCA)

Date: 2009-10-06, 2:03PM PDT
      Reply to: see below