Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I need to be talked out of buying this?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need to be talked out of buying this?

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=91811

OK so I already know this is a cheapo Harbor Freight tool and the price reflects it. But is this a good deal?

What I want is to be able to weld aluminum. I already own a Lincoln MIG welder that I can buy an aluminum welding kit for. Which would be a better way to go?

BTW, I have zero experience with TIG welding......

If you are wanting to weld TIG on Aluminum you should be looking for a welder with high frequency arc stabilization.. when you weld with that welder you would need to scratch start (touch the tungsten to the work) this can contaminate the tungsten and cause a porous weld

If there are only one or two projects that you might want to fabricate from aluminum you can easily convert a regular MIG welder to run aluminum wire (like .030" 4043)
    you would need to change the gun liner to a nylon one and change the gas bottle to straight Argon.
    Last edited by Chris Olson; 03-10-2005, 03:26 PM.

Comment

My dad & I are thinking about building an aluminum trailer. It needs to be big enough to carry his little Kubota tractor. I just want to be able to haul a car when I need to.

Is a 135 amp MIG welder enough to tackle a job like that? Or should I be learning to TIG weld?

Thanks guys for the input!!!!

Travis

Comment

Chris was absolutely right. As for welding aluminum with your MIG, it all depends on how thick the aluminum is. If you are talking about heavy channel sections for frame members then your 135 cannot handle it. For lightweight sheet panels and fairly small parts you have more than enough power. I'd contact the Mfgr. and get some specs from them on your machine's capabilities.