Tool storage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tool storage

Except for a while when I was a kid and had a small, portable box, I have always kept my tools in a roller cabinet with top roller cabinet, and then in later years got an additional roller cabinet.

When I was an automotive instructor, we built a wall mounted cabinet that was about six feet tall and six or so feet wide. The doors opened up and were as deep as the cabinet, so they presented again that much space. I had tools neatly arranged on all of those surfaces. The doors were mounted with large piano hinges, and there were casters under the moving end of each door. It worked really well.

I am wondering out of curiosity how many of you have wall mounted tool arrangements of serious size? Ignoring security, there is a lot to be said for that kind of accessible storage.
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

I don't have enough walls for the tools I have to store! ha!ha! Seriously I did have that arrangement several years (decades) ago, but found myself walking to the wall more than working. I started out with a small Craftsman chest, advanced to a small Craftsman roll-a-way, and now have my sights set on the Hammerhead stainless steel rolling cabinet that is worth $1,500+ but is sold at COSTCO for under $700. It is the nicest cabinet I have seen, and as a former NASCAR pit crewmember I've seen the best and biggest (some cabinets need their own motors!). A small rolling work table, with a few drawers, is also good for taking a dozen or so tools that you need for a specific task and rolling it with you, right to the work.
    MN

Comment

Hi Norm,