Diagnosing the 2001 24V Cummins Ram

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diagnosing the 2001 24V Cummins Ram

Given the great complexity of our truck’s computer and electronic controls, diagnosis becomes very difficult, particularly if you don’t have test equipment.

Under such circumstances, is it possible to try to prepare for long term, high mileage ownership and operation? Are there certain parts that would seem to warrant being owned just to use for substitution in testing? Because I felt I would not be qualified to diagnose accurately enough to save money, I took my truck to a large Cummins dealership. I would like to believe that they are as qualified as anyone to do this work.

I have many years of experience as a mechanic and vocational automotive instructor, but I had elected to stay back from the problem because I felt I would likely spend too much time trying to fix it and too much money from buying wrong parts; not having diagnostic equipment specific to these systems. Even having the right equipment, the Cummins dealer has had it for a week and it is not fixed yet.

Does a Cummins dealer lack any piece of equipment that a Dodge dealer would have, making it peculiar to the Dodge application?

My point here is not to criticize the Cummins dealer, because my experience as a mechanic tells me that diagnosis is not necessarily easy. My point is that I am trying to figure out how I can better prepare for future problems so I can be more self reliant.

What do you suppose people are doing? What could one own in terms of test equipment that would be useful on the late model, computer controlled engines?

What spare parts should a person own for long term operation, without seeming foolish and wasteful?

Discuss, if possible.
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

Gordon,