Cool metal working tools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cool metal working tools

Since I've started doing more sheetmetal work on trucks I've had my eye on Eastwood's Shrinker/Stretcher combo to help speed things up. I ordered a set before I went to CT and today I finally had time to try them out. These things are the slickest tools I've come across in a long time. It's really amazing how they work and make just what I'll need. I'm redoing Jill's PPE Townwagon currently and the one fender she brought has a badly rusted trailing edge. With this new tool I'll be able to make a perfect patch panel and save a huge amount of time. Plus it will be a better job in the end. I also ordered a set of Cleco pins and pliers to help with laying up panels. If these work as well as I think they will it should make a big difference in doing the rear wheel well lips. I'm no pro at bodywork but these new additions will help make the job easier.

did ya get the manual version or the powered version? I'll guess the manual version? I've been looking at those for a long time too. Guess I'll just drop by the shop with some sheet metal in hand...

Pieter

Comment

We have a winner, yes the manual set. They had a sale on them so I saved $30 which pushed me over the edge to get them. With the sheet metal brake and the combo I'm getting closer to having what it takes but they still have a lot of other nice things in the catalog... It states it's best to make a cardboard template of the part you want to make of the curve to get it right as you press your part. I will be experimenting I'm sure. I've got a new piece of sheet so bring your template.

Comment

Originally posted by Ron in Indiana View Post