Mechanic's gloves

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mechanic's gloves

I have never worn gloves in automotive repair, not even when cleaning part with solvent. I believe we are seeing the use of gloves by professionals more and more. Some are fabric and some resemble surgical gloves.

What are your views and experiences? My first interest has to do with solvent use, and I wonder about the rest of it.

Have you ever worked with gloves?
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

I wear gloves more than I used to. I'm not good at small nuts, bolts etc. though with gloves. Definitely trying to be more careful than before with solvents, degreasers, whatever. I used to really abuse my hands. Even mixing paint I force myself to use disposable gloves, once in a while I'll get careless though.

Comment

A Must Have 4 Me

My hands are so messed up from all the temperature diff's I have put them through. (Hot & Cold)
      I like the leather palms for most of the shop work, nitrile, powder free for paint & paint-prep.
      Plus being in the kitchen, I don't want/need greasy black cuticles, or OD fingers. ;~)

Comment

I work in solvents alot. I have always used some sort of rubber/neoprene, latex or whatever type glove to protect my hands. Look at old painters. Their nails are about to fall out & skin is always peeling. I don't want that. I use different gloves for different tasks. Sometimes those cheap disposable latex surgical gloves are good for dealing with nuts & bolts. No they don't last long & your hands get sweaty, but better than nothing.

BTW baby oil is a very good skin protector & hand cleaner for when dealing with oil/alkyd based paints & petroleum based automotive products. Apply before "getting greasy" then use it again to clean up. Plus leaves your skin baby soft.

Bucky

Comment

As they preach in the military "always wear your protection".

Frank

Comment