Employment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employment

Many of you will recall I was unemployed for quite a while last year. I have hesitated to reveal this for a while because — foolishly, perhaps — I was at some level afraid I would jinx it. I did find employment at a local manufacturing firm, starting January 24 of this year, so I have been working now for almost six months. I started in assembly, as an assembler.

On April 12 I was fortunate enough to move to a position as industrial engineer in this company, in the department responsible to transition new designs to production. We are the first to build, and work out the bugs, you might say, participating in the finalization of the design. It is a very interesting place.

I am very thankful to those who provided emotional support, as well as literal support here. You are a wonderful group of folks. I kept my sanity during the 50 weeks of unemployment by connecting with you people each month in the magazine, and also here at the forums. It is important to say that in these last 27 years during which I have published the magazine it has been the single most satisfying part of my life. It is all because of the feedback I get from readers. The individual notes and letters I receive are not simply satisfying, they are nourishing in the most intense way. Thank you to all who write to me.

America needs to get its manufacturing base back. Let's all hope for that.

Have a great day!
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

I'm glad your road has gotten a bit smoother. The job seems like its suited to your skills.

Bucky

Comment

Originally posted by Gordon Maney View Post

America needs to get its manufacturing base back. Let's all hope for that.
      Amen to that and good to hear things are working out for you.

Dennis

Comment