Online auction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Online auction

I have a subscriber who wants to auction off a Danbury Mint Power Wagon model. It is a beauty. Remarkably, he wants to then donate the proceeds to the Power Wagon Advertiser forums. For the time being I will not identify him.

This is timely because I have pondered how we could try some auctions for trucks or parts here. My interest in this moment is to kick around some ideas on how this could be done.

A first thought is that, as is the case with ebay auctions, the bidders may want to be anonymous. What are your thoughts on that? Is that desirable here, or would forum users be happy to bid with posts in an auction thread?

I think a fixed time period would be needed, but likely longer than a week, which I think is what Ebay uses. Perhaps three weeks would be good, in the interests of getting good exposure.

As an aside, if we have some other folks want to try an online auction [....and I am not meaning to give the forum the money, I am meaning to sell an item themselves], it may be they would like to choose a time, perhaps even longer.

I am not an ebay person, so I can't imagine all of the appropriate questions.

Discuss....
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

I would not mind bidding openly in a thread. But that's just me.

Comment

One other aspect not yet addressed is payment. Again, I am broadening this beyond this initial, described item to the possibility of other individuals occasionally choosing to sell items that way.

I am imagining payment to be done in the same ways it is done when people list items for sale and reach an agreement. I have no wish to handle finances for people and don't want the risks associated with doing so.